Weekly Update: Week 15

I feel like I’ve been doing a better job prioritizing my health this week (with the exception of the pizza we ordered Thursday night…)  I went to several yoga classes this week and did some walking.  I also lost 3 pounds.  It seems like a little thing, but when I have been gaining and losing the same 5 pounds for 6 months, it’s nice to see a lower number on the scale.

After the last few weekends of not doing much socializing due to the changes we were making around the house, this weekend we entertained friends for the first time.  I decided I was not going to let this become more of a burden than a benefit in my life and didn’t want to spend another weekend not socializing.  We went to to dinner and a show with friends on Saturday night and had friends over on Sunday to swim in the pool and enjoy barbecue.  (Also to show off how the house looked now the project is done, to be honest.)  My friends were overwhelmingly supportive of the transformation.

WHAT, IF ANYTHING, DID I SPEND MONEY ON THIS WEEK?

Well, I finally bit the bullet and got my car window repaired after driving around for months with the back window taped up.  Luckily, I don’t keep anything valuable in my car because, when I locked my keys in the car recently, the tape was easily removed allowing the window to fall open. That was convenient for allowing us to retrieve my keys, but not the most secure situation.  While taped up windows aren’t a great look, I would’ve been fine keeping them taped for much longer if it weren’t for the security considerations.

The car was also due for an oil change, so I had that done at the same time. It was even more expensive than I was anticipating.  Ouch.  In addition to the planned repairs, they saw some leaking of oil and transmission fluid. They put dye in the fluids, which will allow them to identify the source of the leak when I bring it back next week for possibly even more repairs. Double ouch.

It is moments like these that I am grateful for this experiment–When large, unexpected expenses like this come up and I can afford them, albeit begrudgingly, it is empowering. In fact, a study last year showed nearly 2/3 of Americans don’t have enough savings to be able to afford this exact situation–a $500 car repair.  This year, an updated study showed that number is still well over half.

WHAT ELSE WOULD I HAVE BOUGHT?

In the middle of the night, finding it hard to sleep, random thoughts pop into my brain. One night this week, one of these thoughts was “Is Aeropostale, that store I was obsessed with in high school, still open?”  So I googled and checked out Aeropostale’s website.  Big mistake.

Aeropostale

They are having a huge sale right now, with hundreds of items under $10, plus an additional 40% off.  I was honestly shocked at how low some of the prices were and was extremely tempted to buy a cheap pair of yoga pants and a few tank tops.

I reminded myself about the environmental impact of “fast fashion” and that I should choose quality over quantity.  No doubt, at under $10 per item, this clothing was not made to last.  Plus, I still have more than enough clothing to wear.  As I’ve previously discussed, things like t-shirts and tank tops that would not be appropriate to wear for work have limited utility, as they can’t be worn a majority of the week. Part of the point of this year of buying nothing was to let some of my older things wear out while also not necessarily replacing everything, allowing my clothing collection to whittle itself down to the level I want without having to get rid of so much perfectly good clothing.  After some extensive window shopping, I forced myself to click out of the website.

Total amount I saved that I would have spent this week: $ ??? – who knows how much I would have spent on Aeropostale sale?

Running Total: $1240

Leave a Reply

