Weekly Update: Week 9

WHAT, IF ANYTHING, DID I SPEND MONEY ON THIS WEEK?

For the first time since starting the year of buying nothing, I actually bought something. For the past 2 months, I have been spending money almost exclusively on experiences and consumable items.  While an exception to the buying ban is consumables, I have not had any need to purchase any toiletries yet.

I have dry skin, so lotion goes pretty quickly.  I especially have to moisturize my feet regularly to keep them from flaking and cracking.  I buy Gene’s Vitamin E cream in bulk–the 16 oz container lasts a long time and is much less expensive than anything labeled “foot cream”.  While we had a membership, I got it from Sam’s Club.  I found it on Amazon instead and ordered it.  (**Another totally voluntary, unsponsored endorsement. Review written by someone else.)

I also ordered some spray sunscreen–It is summertime, the pool is about 50 feet from our condo’s backdoor and I am susceptible to sunburns.  I have some lotion sunscreen, but I usually keep some spray especially for those hard-to-reach places on my back when I go sit by the pool with nobody to rub it in for me.

This week, I went out to lunch with a friend and browsed the shops.  It was tough, but I resisted. It will take more than a quick trip to the mall for me to break the year of buying nothing.  I felt bad that my friend, aware of this blog, my new minimalist lifestyle and the year of buying nothing, seemed to be self-conscious about her purchases, like she had just taken a shot of whiskey in front of a sober person.  It felt like she thought I was judging her for purchasing things, but I wasn’t.  Honest.  The cute Lucky Brand dress she bought looked banging on her and at the price she paid–Who could resist?  I hope it brings her lots of value.

Confession time, dear readers: My boss asked me to wear a blue shirt for company photographs this week, so I did have to purchase one, as I did not have one that was appropriate for the occasion.  It’s a versatile design, capable of being dressed up with slacks, a pencil skirt, or suit and also looks good dressed down with jeans.

The best part is that it did not cost me any money out of my pocket–I am a member of a website where you can answer surveys for points and redeem those points for prizes.  I redeemed my points for a $25 Macy’s gift card.  On top of that, I have been hoarding Plenti points, which covered the difference.  Despite the circumstances, this is a beautiful and multipurpose piece I’ll wear for years to come and a worthwhile investment.  I was also very mindful in choosing something that could be worn in many situations.  It was also already on sale, plus an additional 20% off.

Blue tommy shirt

WHAT ELSE WOULD I HAVE BOUGHT?

1.  Koch Leather wristlet.  This wristlet by Koch Leather looks durable and functional.  You know my love of handbags and my recent fascination with wristlets in particular.

File_000 (7)

2.  Koch Leather pouches.  Apparently, Josh Koch wants to take all my money this week, coming out with all these beautiful new leather things.

File_000 (8)

3. Cynthia Rowley shirt dress.  I went shopping with my friend and saw this shirt dress.  Normally, I would have bought it without a second thought.

File_001File_002

4.  Romper (unphotographed).  My friend talked me into trying on a few rompers. There were two in particular I really liked, and strongly considered choosing one of them to buy.  I reminded myself that, although it is summer and a new romper seems like a logical purchase, I already have multiple sundresses at home I can wear when in need of something soft and breezy to wear.  I am also realizing that clothes that are inappropriate for work have limited utility as they can’t be worn a majority of the days of the week.  I already have more than enough clothes to fit that limited need.

Total amount I saved that I would have spent this week:  $155

Running Total: $955

3 thoughts on “Weekly Update: Week 9

  1. Pingback: Rewards Points | Legally Minimalist

  2. Pingback: Weekly Update: Week 10 | Legally Minimalist

  3. Pingback: Weekly Update: Week 11 | Legally Minimalist

Leave a Reply

